Institutional Ethics Committee: IEC

PUKAR is very proud to host the Institutional Ethics Committee which approves each and every health-related project conducted by PUKAR in collaboration with national and international academic institutions. It needs to be noted that for papers based on our research to be published in ‘Peer Reviewed International Journals’, it is mandatory to have approvals from the IEC/IRB. Hence, an IEC was established in PUKAR in 2010. With the help of its eminent members, it has been functioning effectively and approving projects as per the requirements.


  1. Professor Perianayagam Arokiasamy
    Chairperson IEC
    (Professor in the Department of Development Studies at IIPS) Expertise: Demography / Public Health / Epidemiology / Biostatistics
  2. Dr. Nayreen Daruwalla
    (Program Director at SNEHA)
    Expertise: Psychology/ Community-based work in marginalised communities/ Women’s health
  3. Smruti Koppikar
    (Journalist, Comment writer, Columnist with Hindustan Times, Associate Editor & Bureau Chief – Outlook, visiting faculty for social media course at Sophia Polytechnic, Chief of Bureau – Star News)
    Expertise: Community Journalism
  4. Dr. Satishchandra Kumar
    (Head & Associate Professor, Department of Applied Psychology & Counseling Center, University of Mumbai)
    Expertise: Psychology / Education
  5. Dr. Nerges Mistry
    (Director, Foundation for Medical Research) Expertise: Laboratory Medicine & Medical Technology
  6. Professor Anjali Monteiro
    (Professor, Centre for Media and Cultural Studies, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai)
    Expertise: Social Sciences / Community-based work in marginalised communities
  7. Dr. David Osrin
    (Welcome Trust Career Development Fellow, UCL Center for International Health & Development)
    Expertise: Clinical Medicine / Women’s Health / Children’s Health
  8. Advocate Tina Patel (B.Com and LLB) Expertise: Legal expertise
  9. Dr. Anita Patil-Deshmukh
    (Executive Director, PUKAR)
    Expertise: Clinical Medicine / Social Sciences
  10. Professor T.V. Sekher
    (Associate Professor, Department of Population Policy and Programmes, IIPS) Expertise: Demography / Public Health / Epidemiology / Biostatistics / Social Sciences
  11. Dr. Ramnath Subbaraman
    (M.D. Research Advisor at PUKAR and NIH Fogarty International Clinical Research Fellow for 2011-12)
    Expertise: Clinical Medicine

Making the workplace safer

Bearing in mind the increased incidences of violence nationally and globally, and the #MeToo campaign, PUKAR formed its own POSH (Prevention of Sexual Harassment) Committee in 2017 and it has been functioning regularly as per the mandates.

Credibility Alliance

PUKAR was accredited by Credibility Alliance (CA) in February 2018 under ‘Desirable Norms’ for a period of 5 years until February 2023.
Credibility Alliance is a consortium of Voluntary Organizations (VOs) committed towards enhancing Accountability and Transparency in the Voluntary Sector through Good Governance.